Free

When I was younger
my love for you was so
great that I put up
with things I accepted
from no one else

As I grew older,
I assumed love meant
accepting your silence,
the way you cut me
out unless you wanted
something, giving just enough
to keep me hoping, remembering…

I made excuses for your absence,
but I knew I was not your priority
I felt the scales tip, slowly, from
50-50, to 90-10, until I knew
the relationship was merely
a wisp of its former self

Existing only because
I was too tenacious to
let it go

Today, I cut the line
We’re both free

Good-bye

2 thoughts on “Free

  1. zarriaza says:

    awesome poem kind of summed up my early yrs exactly always found myself in that situation

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message
    home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.

    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

