Pink Packet Kids

My class this year is an intervention class. I’ve been affectionately (NOT IN FRONT OF THEM!) referring to them as my pink packet kids — you know, Sweet and Low.

It’s funny because some really need help, and others just need to stay the course.  Already I have half the class that I KNOW can make huge gains IF they do everything that we need to do and work hard.  The best part is that they really are hard workers.

Because I like to brag on them:

1) JM is the sweetest thing EVER.  She came to me when we were working with the kindergartners and whispered, “You need to pull up your pants.  Your underwear is showing.”  Not only is she the academically strongest in the class, but she is a caring person to boot.  She is EXACTLY the person you want to be your friend.

2) JK works well with others and can see his accomplishments.  He really knows when he’s done good work.  He’s aware of what it takes to move forward and is doing it.

3) RS’s mother is undergoing cancer treatments.  He comes every day with a smile on his face and does his best.  He cares for her greatly.  On days that he worries, he can call to check.  However, he gets that she wants him to do well, and he wants to make sure he doesn’t give her reason to worry.

4) AA cannot easily read AT ALL.  However, she is a sweet girl who works to please.  The more I find good things to praise her for, the stronger she becomes.  You can tell that she wants to be a drama queen.  However, we’ve been working to minimize overblown reactions.  She’s more stoic and helpful.  She really is a kind person, and I’m doing what I can to help.  Unfortunately, it means a crash course in special education ’cause her needs are many.

5) FM also wants to be a drama king.  He returned to his 4th grade teacher and told her that he wasn’t going to get into trouble this year.  He was going to change.  Mind you, he’s found trouble already.  However, he is changing.  He gets it.  Plus his mom supports me and appreciates that if he gets into trouble with me, I am the person who gives the consequence.  I don’t go through the office unless it’s ongoing or major.  He is a helpful person.  It seems he just manufactures stupid boy tricks in between.  It’s funny if you think about it.

6) MS is another “high-spirited” kid who is skating the fence.  We’re working on it because there’s no reason for him NOT to be a 6th grade reader by the end of the year.

7) SR worries me greatly.  She often wants to sleep in class.  She’s uninterested in the process, and, I think, can’t see it’s connection to her.  She doesn’t cause trouble.  In fact, in 5th grade, she’s already working to master invisibility. That worries me.  She’s very uncomfortable with me because I give her a lot of attention.  I know she’s capable.  I just can’t find out what or why is keeping her from being at the top of the heap.  There’s a lot more going on in there.

8) JA is making it to school on time (yeah!) so I have great hopes of huge improvement.  She’s smart, caring, funny, and capable.  She’s also a little TOO honest as she told another girl, “I don’t like you, and I don’t want to play with you.”  I guess that’s better than being her frenemy!

9) MM is so close she didn’t even know it.  That’s OK, because I keep telling her.  She’s not afraid of what I’m asking because she knows it will help.  She’s another that’s so sweet you can’t imagine.  She smiles easily and is a pleasure to work with.  She’s a great teammate and helps others as well.

10) CV is the cutest, little fun-sized kid.  He has a FABULOUS personality, smiles easily, makes friends, and just seems like he could be an amazing leader if he could get all his duck in a row.  I like him so very much.  I don’t think he knows it, but he’s charming, helpful, and kind.

While that’s not the whole class, it does show what wonderful students I have to work with.  That inspires me to try harder, to work longer days with them, and to make a connection with them EVERY.SINGLE.DAY.  While I attribute my attitude change to them, I know it’s also me.

I’m so glad I sought treatment so that I could be the right teacher for all of these kids.  I’m so lucky to have them.

Leave a Reply

