Hot Time in the City –WWTK

null

Welcome to We Want to Know Wednesdays Q&A          Hosted by Mamarazzi and Crazymama

This week Crazymama is asking the questions: Let’s talk summer. Ours is in full swing and the temps are rising (we got up to 114 on a few days already) So this weeks questions are about keeping cool and other summer delights.

(1) What is the usual summer high temperature where you live?

I had to look this up!  Apparently the average summer high temperature in Sunnyvale is between 79 and 82.  This explains why when it hits 85, I think it’s HOT.  It’s supposed to be 88 today.  I will be whining about it. I should point out, very little humidity.
For those who want to smack me for being whiny, I totally get it.  I grew up in Iowa where, trust me, 80 is NICE.  I understand how ugly it is to deal with anything above 90, plus matching humidity.  I totally appreciate living in Northern California.

(2) How do you keep cool? Do you have central air?

We have central air, but it’s not something we use very often.  Generally just opening up the house and running some fans works.  However, if it gets into the mid-to-late 80s, the air conditioning is ON!  Mind you, I’ll also jump in the pool on hot days.  It’s lovely having that option and not having to take care of it.  🙂

(3) Do you swim? If you get in the water do you get your hair and make-up wet?

I don’t swim really.  I stand there and do some variety of water aerobics (jumping, “surfing” on pool toys, water jogging, etc.).  I used to swim, but now I don’t have  the stamina for it.  If I get into the water, I am prepared to come out looking like a mess though.
Just so you know, I’m fluffy and I know it!  I WANT to cover up, but it impedes my movement so…  Well, great white is in the pool.

(4) What is your favorite summer look? As far as outfit, shoe choice and  hairstyle? (Pics are rad or just describe it.) Do you wear less make-up in the summer?

I don’t have a favorite summer look.  I tend to wear the same things over and over again.  I’m a t-shirt and jeans person. Since I live in NorCal, I tend to wear Birkenstocks most of the year (save for winter when it rains).  Nothing changes, seriously.  I also wear the same amount of make-up.  Boring, I know.

(5) What is your favorite summer meal to make or eat, either way? (Score extra cool points for a recipe.)

Again, I’m so not useful here.  Since there’s not a huge change in temperature, I don’t think SUMMER anymore.  It’s not like I’m grilling so I can keep the house cool.  I actually baked potatoes and salmon last weekend IN THE OVEN.  If anything, because I’m not working, I cook less.  Yes, it’s illogical.

Hop on over to Mamarazzi: www.ourdandelionwishes.com and Truly Delightful in Every Way at http://crazymamaof6.blogspot.com/.

However, in the comments, please add your favorite summer song.  Mine is “Sausalito Summer Nights” by Diesel.  I also love “Drivin'” by Pearl Harbor and the Explosions.

3 thoughts on “Hot Time in the City –WWTK

  1. vandylj says:

    There are times when I wish we didn’t get so cold in the winter–but the mild summers we have here in Wyoming make up for it. It’s nice not having to have air conditioning isn’t it?

  2. Jo says:

    When I say I swim I also mean I get in the water and move around or something like that … I don’t do laps!

  3. Mamarazzi says:

    everything beach boys screams summer to me!

    thanks so much for linking up, loved your answers. if i could ask you to pretty please remove my real name from your post i would really appreciate it. i use Mamarazzi on line for a very good reason. thanks!

Leave a Reply

