Storm and Peace

I wasn’t aware of the words I chose
even though I knew they affected
my attitude, feelings and actions

I was addicted to the bombastic,
attention, overblown drama of a
life spinning out of control

Until I wasn’t

There is no romance on
the raging sea, no beauty in the
shards of floating wood, remnants
of the boat, beaten against the rocks

The sea is most tempting when
it’s calm, accepting, open armed, placid
A place where one goes to gather
strength against

the impending storm

Where choosing one’s words wisely
is the difference between storm
and peace

Leave a Reply

