BB Creams

For every serious, real life post, must be one about things that aren’t really that important in life. It’s called balance. At least that’s what I tell myself. 🙂

In case you live under a rock, or a heterosexual male, the new “IT” product on the scene is a BB cream (apparently BIG in Asia for years! Seriously, lots of exclamation points are used when talking about “beauty” products.) which stands for beauty or blemish balm depending on the day, product, and manufacturer.  I think of it was a tinted moisturizer with sunscreen.

In the past, I just used Clinique’s sunscreen.   When I started to read about the BB creams I had to try one because, well, I’m a slave to beauty and a product whore.  Ironically, the first one I wanted to try was Estee Lauder.  However, the color I would need wasn’t in stock or available on-line or in stores.  Either ghostly pale is really popular, or not.  Either way, no luck.

So I went to the sister counter of Clinique and bought theirs.  CHALK!  Seriously, I don’t know if it’s the lack of oils in it or what, but it sat on top of my skin and looked chalky and masky.  Not really the look a middle-aged+ woman wants. In order to use it, I have to mix it with moisturizer, and even then it’s not right.

Then, in one of my “beauty” subscription kits, I got the Dr. Brandt BB cream.  Not bad.  Pretty good coverage.  However, for the cost of a full tube, I wasn’t convinced.  I’m not big on paying HUGE money for anything.  In fact, I find my favorite products are drug store ones.

With that in mind, I bought the Garnier BB cream.  Honestly, the cheapest product is working the best for me.  Decent coverage, doesn’t settle into lines, and evens out my tone.

Take away message:  Sometimes cheaper is better, and you can never overestimate the importance of feeling pretty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

