B4D (Breakfast for Dinner)

Poached Eggs, Hash & Bacon Cakes

When I was a child, I lived for the nights when my mom would come home too tired to cook and decide on breakfast for dinner. In retrospect, what was she thinking? The feasts she made us, and the amount of time she was in the kitchen, had to be more time, work and energy than any throw together meal (note: 2nd favorite was grilled cheese sandwiches and soup).

I’ve often wondered, again in retrospect, if it wasn’t about money. After all, lots of breakfast items are cheap. I don’t think Mom used a pancake mix, and this was before foodies made certain cuts of meat “designer” and thus more expensive. Whatever it was though, it was a feast of eggs, pancakes or waffles, bacon or sausage, and fried potatoes.

Obviously, I’m a fan. In fact, we ate at Denny’s just last night. I had scrambled egg whites, chicken sausage, hash browns and pancakes. It was lovely.

Lest you think, “Of course she loves it. She’s not cooking.” please note that I will make breakfast for dinner. In fact, I’m currently in need of a new waffle iron, and I bought an electric skillet so I could cook large amounts of hash browns all at once. I’m not just a fan, I’m dedicated to the art.

That, my friends, is love.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “B4D (Breakfast for Dinner)

  1. Donna says:

    I have some of the same memories- my mom used a baking mix for her pancakes too, and they were particularly delicious if we had them for dinner. My dad used to make us grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup for dinner every Sunday evening so that my mom could have a night off, and I loved those meals. I could care less if we had it every week- he made the world’s best grilled cheese (of course he had plenty of practice perfecting his technique).

  2. Jolene says:

    Breakfast for dinner is one of my favorites as well…fond memories as a child. 🙂

Leave a Reply

