WWTK Week 52 — Hypothetically Speaking

null

Welcome to We Want to Know Wednesdays Q&A
Hosted by Mamarazzi and Crazymama

Mamarazzi is asking the questions this week: In the middle of LIFE is one big IF…so this weeks questions are all about the IF…

{1} If you had to be trapped in a TV show for a month, which show would you choose? 

I’m thinking “The Big Bang Theory.”  Not only do I like the characters, but most have places to live, eat regularly, have jobs, and there are places for sleeping as well as taking a shower.  Apparently in being stuck, I want comfort, not adventure.   Although… How cool would it be to be stuck on “Gilligan’s Island”?

{2} If you could be guaranteed one thing in life besides money, what would you ask for? 

I truly don’t know.  I think health, then I think mental health.  Then I think job.  But then I realize that life is about people so family and friends.  Yet, any issues there are personal, so maybe I go for being normal.  At the end, though, I think it’s purpose.  I’d like to be guaranteed a purpose in life and have the path for achieving it.
This question was hard.

{3} If you had to name the most terrifying event in your life thus far, what would it be?

I don’t live a terrifying life. In fact, in this one particular case, I am amazingly blessed.  There have been super sad, unexpected end-of-job events, but they aren’t terrifying.  I guess the closest would be Keb’s birth.  Even then, modern medicine saved the day.  Medicine is a truly lovely thing.

{4} If you could possess one supernatural ability, what would it be?

To pop up anywhere in the world at will and take others with me.  It would be so incredibly fabulous to be able to snap my fingers and be in Des Moines right away, then pop back to California.  I’d be able to see people I loved quickly without the need to be away from home for long periods, plan and pack, and all the other things that come with travel.

{5} If you could “uninvent” one thing in the world , so that it would no longer exist, what would you choose?

It’s a toss-up between smart phones and 24/7 news channels.  I don’t see either one improving life in the long run.
Smart phones are the new babysitters (cue squeals of “But this app is SO ed-u-ca-tion-al!”), which I don’t see as the best use of child brain power at all.  I already can waste so much time on a computer, and I’m a bit anti-social.  Devices that encourage that…. well.
As for 24/7 news, I think that’s almost too obvious.  Let’s air some dirty laundry over and over again until a new story pops up.  I’m egotistical and like to talk.  This, if anything, shows me how insufferable I’d be if I were given access time to grind my axe.  YIKES!  We seriously need to take that away from others as well.  It’s not good or healthy.  Again, so not making society better.
7 thoughts on “WWTK Week 52 — Hypothetically Speaking

  1. vandylj says:

    I totally agree on the smart phone thing. they intimidate me and I don’t think anyone needs to be that connected.

  2. Suzanne says:

    My other (very judgemental) issue with them is the cost. I work with families who can’t (won’t) make sure their kids have lunch money or even lunch, but everyone has a smart phone. I think many (not all) users have warped priorities. Plus, normal electronics are a time suck! 🙂

    That said, you shouldn’t be intimated by more than the cost. 🙂
    Happy Wednesday. Have a fabulous day and thank you for stopping by.

  3. Very good answer….I need to check out Big Bang Theory…a couple of other folks have chosen it as well!

    Linking from Mamarazzi’s
    xo,
    Ricki Jill

  4. crazymama says:

    News. I can do away with. I don’t watch it.
    My smart phone though? I’ll never give it up. But little kids don’t need to sit and play all day. I thought that today while a bunch of little girls watched a movie under a table instead of played together with toys.

    I need to get on board with big bang theory. My friend posted a clip on my fb wall that was about a tiara, it was hilarious.

  5. Martha says:

    Oh, I so agree about the 24/7 news. That saying no news is good news-so right!

  6. Jo says:

    I could so do with your super power. Living on another continent makes visiting friends and family very hard … not to mention all the big events one misses out on.

  7. mamarazzicfg says:

    oh the smart phone…my head might explode without mine. but i do not share it with children 🙂

    thanks for linking up!!

Leave a Reply

