WWTK — MONEY! Week 50

Welcome to We Want to Know Wednesdays Q&A
Hosted by Mamarazzi and Crazymama

null

{1} What is something that you currently spend money on that you consider a splurge or frivolous?
General category: liquids.  Primarily because water comes from a tap.  Between my diet soda addiction and my new-found love of Starbucks in the morning, I probably spend about $6 a day on drinking things.  When you add it up, that’s over $2,000 a year just on drinking.  I guess it’s a good thing I’m not into alcohol or this would just be TONS worse.
{2} Tell us about your first paying job. How old were you?
Aside from an allowance for doing chores at home, I think my very first “paying job”, and heaven knows how old I was, was taking mail to the mailbox for Mrs. Fortune who lived across the street.  I’d get a nickel for my troubles.  There were also expectations.  Put the mail in the box, close the slot, open it again to make sure it went down, repeat once or twice more.  Then return to Mrs. Fortune for the nickel and the fifth degree about whether you followed the rules.  Strangely, I always did.

From there it morphed into mowing her lawn (and other people’s as well) and shoveling sidewalks.  I didn’t get a PAYCHECK job until I was 17.  That was at the Public Library of Des Moines. I actually lost money by taking a job. 🙂

{3} Do you plan date nights and extras into a monthly/weekly budget?
No.  I don’t budget.  We also don’t date night.  We just hang out together.
{4} Share one of your money saving tips with us.
I unsubscribed from EVERY company I’d ever ordered from or who sent me emails with offers.  My incidents of online impulse shopping have decreased a HUGE amount.  Someone said I could have just deleted the emails, which is what I did before.  Except, sometimes, when I was bored or avoiding work… I’d follow the line.  Trust me, this was worth the couple of hours I put into it.
And finally, Christine @ http://cmgendreau.blogspot.com wants to know:
{5} If you won the lottery – would you spend it frivolously or use what you need and save the rest? Why?
I’d spend it, but not frivolously.  I’d make sure my family had what it needed to get by until death, then I’d spend the money on charities or non-profits.  I probably would see if there was a way to create my own charter and fund my own school.  I have sort of plan and everything.  I can guarantee you, a new car would be coming my way, but not crazy-stupid expensive shoes.

9 thoughts on “WWTK — MONEY! Week 50

  1. Jo says:

    I have never shopped online, except for plane tickes and hotel bookings.

    • Suzanne says:

      You’re a smart one. I don’t like “real” shopping, but I like clothes and nice things. Therefore, I just did it online. Problem is, when you have more clothes than hangers and you’re still getting more in the mail. I actually think the worst was my “Bag, Borrow, or Steal” obsession. I now have more Coach purses than I actually will ever use. That’s sad.

      Thanks for stopping by. Have a very happy end of the week.

  2. vandylj says:

    My hubby and I don’t do a date night either. We should. Just to get away from the boys on occasion.

    • Suzanne says:

      We only have one child, and we’re pretty attached. He is the one who leaves us! No date night planning needed. 🙂

      How many boys?

  3. Ginger says:

    On line shopping is so dangerous!! and I do it, but very rarely. Mostly for music an books and I do my photo books. I’m with you on the date nite and budgeting!! I just do it if in the mood!

  4. Suzanne says:

    You’re smart. It was a bad habit of mine. Thanks for stopping by. Have a beautiful Thursday.

  5. michael says:

    Very thoughtful considerations. I’d like to think people can be both fun and frugal, and it sounds like you’ve figured that out. It’s a great way to live.

  6. engelsigh says:

    I didn’t think of drinks! But I am definately in same boat you are on that one. I don’t drink Starbucks but I have an energy drink every day, and iced tea. I should probably just brew my own at home and bring but I don’t. That’s an excellent idea about store emails. I do get suckered into buying things if I see some place is having a sale.

  7. engelsigh says:

    I never even would have thought about drinks – butI do it too. Instead of bringing water from home or making my own iced tea, every day I buy an energy drink and an iced tea, and sometimes a bottled water too.
    That’s an excellent idea about the store emails. I have been suckered in by sale emails more times than I would like to admit.

Leave a Reply

