Sigh…

I’m sure some TV show already went through the: I’m offended, and I’m offended at your being offended, and I take offense at your offense, etc.

Sometimes silence is golden, and you just need to let things go.  Hence the point with Kirk Cameron and his interview with Piers Morgan.  http://tv.yahoo.com/news/glaad-fires-back-growing-pains-star-kirk-cameron-221503692.html

Kirk is ASKED his OPINION about GAY MARRIAGE.  He (gasp) GAVE it.  His opinion, if you didn’t just skip over and read it, is that he feels being gay is unnatural and destructive.  He goes on to say that marriage is between one man and one woman until death do you part.  Then it explains that he’s an Evangelical Christian (because apparently THAT’S the reason for his belief.  Maybe it is, but there was something icky about stating it.).  Sigh.

Look, you don’t have to like his opinion.  I don’t agree with it.  However, I believe freedom of speech is  protected by the Constitution.  That means he gets to say what he thinks and feels WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT.

His opinion is not going to be changed.  Making a fuss just makes people on the fence cringe due to what they perceive as “politically correct rhetoric” and “bullying”.  I’d rather he was honest about his feelings than say one thing and vote the other.

Besides when it’s all said and done, we will all have to come to the realization that marriage is a CONTRACT between two people.  Thus, it’s business.  And churches don’t control business transactions.  That would be the legal branch of your government.  Don’t believe me?  Did your church marry you without a license from the state?

Let the poor man be.  Really.

3 thoughts on “Sigh…

  1. Yesterday I was thinking that how politically incorrect it is to express “unpopular” views of so many minority factions of our society. But it is perfectly acceptable to bash white males or Christians.

    I even feel as a Democrat that I can’t speak my mind without Republicans going all nutso on me.

    We are in an odd time in our society. We are teaching tolerance for some, but not all. Tolerance shouldn’t replace independent thought and the right to respectfully express personal opinions. I need to spend time mulling this over.

  2. Suzanne says:

    I agree mostly. I think what I’m seeing is where, when a group is criticized, there’s an automatic “You’re picking on me!” response. Then they use that as their battle cry, and it becomes the new message. In particular, I’m thinking about saying “Happy Holidays” rather than “Merry Christmas”. Weirder still? It probably really was a very small group of people who complained in the first place — you know, the ones looking for a fight or an offense. I don’t think most people really care. It’s just a greeting — a kindness.

    I don’t really think we’re teaching tolerance or acceptance. I think we’re teaching “Don’t say anything someone will find offensive. You can think what you want as long as you don’t say it.” As such, there’s no real coming together to find common ground. The idea of a country where duty to country comes first and duty to self comes second is long gone.

    We do need to allow for independent thought. It’s only through talking, meeting, and learning about others that we can find a common ground to move forward. If people always feel they will be attacked, then they will shut-up. This, I feel, reinforces the stereotypes and bigotry.

    We’ve come a long way, but we have a long way to go.

  3. Suzanne says:

    BTW, my students were LIVID at the idea that a Muslim could hold any political office in America. They were not happy at all about the idea that we have them here. Let alone that they will attack us. Hell, Mohammed Ali is Muslim! We seriously have work to do.

Leave a Reply

