I Confess — I’m Not a Hipster

Photobucket

I Confess

I didn’t take Davy Jones’ passing as hard as others I know, but it reminded me how much I loved The Monkees  I know, I’m not supposed to admit that because it’s a sure sign of being into “bubble-gum pop”.

I Confess

I like bubble-gum pop.  I like all sorts of music that’s not cool, not hip, not current, and not popular. My iPod (shuffle, no less) reads ADD.  Seriously, random distribution shoots out stuff like Rhianna, John Mellencamp, The Pretenders, Dolly Parton, The Who, Maroon 5, and then Brittney Spears.  If I like it, I will listen to it.

I Confess

Hearing that The Monkees outsold The Beatles gives me a little thrill.  I’m not into The Beatles.  I can appreciate them (or, more to the point, George Martin), but I honestly want to hear the confession that, “Yeah, we were high when we wrote Rocky Raccoon.  Nope.  No metaphor.  Just goofy.  Oh, I’m sorry!  You thought we were prophets…” Then they need to lather, rinse and repeat that for a whole lot of stuff that is just not worth listening to.

I Confess

I always preferred The Rolling Stones to both; however, I can see The Monkees being more “accessible” and less “threatening.”

I Confess

There’s no “Stone” I’d want to nail (regardless of era), unlike 1969-era Monkess where 3/4 were VERY do-able.  My favorites being Mike and Pete, which is funny because those were my REM dudes, too.

This, of course, has nothing to do with my deep love of The Who.  I have, and always will be, in love with Pete Townshend.  He’s got a nose with a view.

I Confess

This means I’m not a hipster.  I listen to the radio.  I have sketchy taste in music.  I get mocked by 14 year-olds for poor taste, and I’m still sticking by what I love.

I Confess

I wish I were cooler.

What is your musical confession?  C’mon it’s good for the soul.  Plus you get juice and cookies when you’re done. 😛  Link up with http://www.ourdandelionwishes.com/2012/03/i-confessshes-spoiled.html.

15 thoughts on “I Confess — I’m Not a Hipster

  1. vandylj says:

    I have absolutely no idea what is current with pop, rock, or hip hop. What I do know is country music. It just fits who I am now.
    However I have a love for 80s hair bands, 90s pop, and classic 60s stuff. To look at our mp3 player it would seem a bit all over the place too.

    • Suzanne says:

      I’m just now willing to listen to country, but it’s the way old twangy stuff that reminds me of my dad. I’m talking George Jones, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Tammy Waynette, etc. I listen to some cross-over when it crosses over, but not like people who love country music. That said, I can listen to almost anything save most rap and opera.

      I’m glad you like what you like. I want to think that’s a side benefit of wisdom. Have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by.

  2. I am not a hipster either, and I’m really glad. I hear hipster and I think poser. (Do people still use that word?) I guess I’m not cool either.

    Stopping by from Mamarazzi

    • Suzanne says:

      The only reason I know the phrase is from one of my students. I was talking about how I’m really into Gotye right now. When it was clear he isn’t “popular” or all over the place right now, the student asked if I thought myself a “hipster.” Then he proceeded to want to look at my music library. I think they hurt themselves laughing. It was either that or trying to convince me to download stuff that I think sounds like noise.

      I do think hipster is like poser. It’s just trying TOO hard.

  3. Laura Carson says:

    Oh man, yeah, Vandy, totally give me 80’s hair bands. But I too agree to Monkees being 3/4 doable. Rolling Stones? Meh.

    I say listen to what you love! This is my philosophy about books too. It’s what you like that matters. What speaks to you.

    • Suzanne says:

      Indeed. I was never into hair bands which is why I can listen to them now. I was into New Wave and bands like Duran Duran. Now I like the “idea” of them, but not so much the actual music. LOL. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great weekend.

  4. Lucy says:

    People would die if they saw my iPod, it is all over the place. Like you, if I like it, I listen to it. I didn’t know Davy Jones died until I read a blog and then I kind of knew who it was but I had to google him, I remember him being on episode of Brady Bunch. Anyway, I totally get what you are saying, oh and I like the Who too and my daughter had no idea the songs for all the CSI themes were actual songs until we told her, yeah, feeling a little old LOL

  5. Ducky says:

    I love the 80’s. I’m a bubble-gum pop fan too and I DO have to confess that when my girl friend text me that Davey Jones died, my first thought was “The pirate?”

    Yeah…I know…

    • Suzanne says:

      When I was in the 80s, I TOTALLY loved the 80s. However, now it’s like listening to Lenny Kravitz — I’m pretty much only good for the first 30 seconds. Also, thank you so much for the laugh. I almost spit Diet Pepsi all over the screen about his being a pirate. That would have been AWESOME!

      Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Jolene says:

    I have to disagree with the Beatles comment…but you knew I would. *smile*

    I’m not Hipster either…truthfully when I listen to what the boys are listening… I think, “They call that music?” Probably the same thing our parents thought.

    • Suzanne says:

      Yeah, I know you love The Beatles. So does everyone else I know. I used to when I was in middle school and early high school. Everyone has something they love greatly. I’m not knocking it.

      I can’t speak to today’s music because Keb still listens to what we listen to (Bob Marley in heavy rotation). He picks up popular stuff from school. So far, though, nothing else. We’ll see what pops up.

  7. I confess that I have been singing Brittany Spears from Just Dance 3! AAAAAgGhhhh! Why me?

    • Suzanne says:

      I don’t know that so I can’t help. Ear worms can be and often are horrific. Especially if you didn’t have it in the beginning. Good luck getting rid of it; although, now I’m wondering if Brittney Spears “3” will take over for The Monkeys “Look Out Here Comes Tomorrow” which has been there since Davy Jones died and a friend (not on purpose) got it stuck in my brain.

      Thanks for visiting. Happy Saturday.

  8. Mamarazzi says:

    i kind of loved the monkees when i was a kid, but yeah i wasn’t devastated to hear the sad news.

    sorry i am late getting to confessions. my internet was being poopy this weekend and i could not get blogs to load, so i gave up…until now!! Thanks for linking up!!

Leave a Reply

