WWTK — Week 45: Blogging & Toothbrushes

null

Welcome to We Want to Know Wednesdays Q&A
Hosted by Mamarazzi and Crazymama

{1} What are your Top 3 blogging tips for other bloggers?
I don’t know that I have any really, because I don’t do this at all professionally. I’ll give it a stab though.
a) I don’t do this at all, but I totally recommend focusing!  In fact, there may be a need for more than one blog.  However, I think having a purpose is very helpful.
b) Write what you truly know, not what you think will get you noticed. There’s great honesty in people who blog about their crazy, imperfect lives.
c) Don’t expect to preach to the choir.  Some of the more interesting things come from a messy, opinionated life.  It’s great for people not to agree.  That’s how we grow.
BONUS ANSWER: If you’re going to want to make money and have a huge following (minions :))  I fully suggest selecting a blog site that allows for easy personalization, and then getting some sort of customized background and header.
{2} What book have you read lately that you would recommend?
I read “The Thirteenth Tale” which was good enough, which is a Gothic type “romance” book.  My aunt recommended “Joy for Beginners”, but I couldn’t get into it that much. I did finish it, but I found myself skimming large passages because I just didn’t care.  I’ve been having a TERRIBLE time lately finding books I want to start and finish.  I should read “The Hunger Games” because of the students and movie, but…
{3} What is a physical feature you have been complimented on?
None lately.  I used to (before Keb and growing older) get complimented on my hair.  Same thing with my skin.  Now these things don’t really happen. Although, I do have one student, M, who SWEARS I look 20, and I’m so pretty.  She’s silly.
{4} What color is your toothbrush?
Blue and green and white.  Generally I look for a style, and then buy whatever is there.  I should use the electric toothbrush, but I don’t.
{5} What question would you like to add to a future WWTK?
Hmmm… There are so many. What are your plans for Spring Break?  Do you still get excited for summer?  Are you dieting to fit into  a bikini?  Have you ever fit into a bikini?  What is your morning routine?  What is your bed routine?  What’s the best thing about your best friend? Which blogs do you subscribe to (or follow) and why?  When you buy (if you buy) cookbooks and cooking magazines, do you really use them?  Favorite pot-luck recipe. What word, deed, action sets off your temper?

Hope you have a wonderful Wednesday. It’s raining here, but we need it.  So I can be happy about that.  Head over to the host sites, read, and if you like, link up.  It’s free and fun.  😛

22 thoughts on “WWTK — Week 45: Blogging & Toothbrushes

  1. Mamarazzi says:

    i got your emailed list of questions and will most def be using them in future WWTK! most def read the hunger games the first book will brag your attention immediately, you will love it! i read the whole trilogy in a weekend, they were just too good to put down!!

    thanks so much for linking up!!

    • Suzanne says:

      I started the first book with Keb, but he was reading with his dad so he wasn’t as interested. I know I have to get the first one read so that I will be in the know when the students ask about the movie. Funny, I bought multiple copies for the classroom. I just haven’t read any of them.

      Hope your day is spectacular.

  2. Scriptor says:

    I love all your suggested questions; good ones!

  3. Jill says:

    Yep, you really should read The Hunger Games. I’m always wary of those super-hyped series’, but I’ve learned to give in because apparently I’m all about the hype! It really was awesome, though, I’ve now got my brother & his wife reading them.

    • Suzanne says:

      I’ll get to it soon. I have to because of the movie, and because I teach. The kids will want to discuss it. It’s not that I’m worried it’s bad. It’s just that it reminds me too much of the book/movie in the 70s of the same idea. I can’t get past my preconceived notion, even though I read LOTS of things that have “already been done.”

      Thanks for the push. I need it.

  4. Dawn says:

    Great answers. All these book suggestions are great!

  5. vandylj says:

    I haven’t read the Hunger Games either–just not all that interested in the description. It doesn’t grab me.

    • Suzanne says:

      I’m of the same mind, except I teach so it’s pretty important that I keep up on the latest books. Usually I’m OK, but that one didn’t grab me. I’ll get through it, I know, but I’m not enthusiastic about it.

      Hope your day is fabulous. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Jill says:

    Ha! Bikini, what’s that?! lol

  7. Jo says:

    Just had a look at your picture, you have a lovely smile!

    Loads of interesting questions …

  8. Chelsea says:

    Great questions… a Bikini will never see this body AGAIN.

    • Suzanne says:

      Girl… a bikini NEVER saw this body! LOL! At least you can say you once did. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by.

  9. crazymama says:

    ohhh a bunch of good questions. kudos.

    i haven’t read hunger games either. i’m resisting.
    i will see the movie though, probably.

    thanks for linking up!

    • Suzanne says:

      When I was writing the questions, I kept thinking of “Pigeon Wants a Hot Dog” where he says, “What? I’m a curious bird!”

      I started book one of The Hunger Games to read it to my son, but he was in the middle of a book with his dad and didn’t want to stop. I’m sure I’ll read them eventually. I’m thankful there are only three because I got tired of Harry Potter and Cirque du Freak (disclaimer, I teach; therefore, I read kid books) and Sisters Grimm because they went on WAY too long. I see your point about resisting.

      I think I have to take the students to the movie, though. 🙂
      Happy Thursday.

  10. Ginger says:

    Great answers! Loved reading them all. It’s fun to find out things about everyone! Have a happy rest of the week.

    • Suzanne says:

      Thank you. Me too, I like reading things even if I don’t know the person “personally”. I learn more about them every time. Have a great day.

  11. adie says:

    Stopping by from Mamarazzi!

    It is nice to go to a blog and see a pretty header and background. People who stick to the standard are fine I just find it boring.

    Have a great week!

    • Suzanne says:

      I think so as well. When I first started blogging, I didn’t ever think about other people and their experiences, because I wasn’t blogging for that reason. Then once I did see what was available, it wasn’t easy to get onto wordpress, so I haven’t bothered. I do know that when really building a blog, though, it’s a VITAL part of the operation.

      Live and learn, right?
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a fabulous Thursday.

Leave a Reply

