Rok Bistro

Last night, Carol and I went to Rok Bistro to celebrate my upcoming birthday.  I’d known that they do chocolate fondue, but aside from that I wasn’t too sure what to expect.  I didn’t really understand the whole “volcanic rock” part.  OK, duh, I should have figured out I’d be cooking my own meal — something I’m not even good at when I’m at home.

We got there around 5:45 (I’d made reservations just to be safe), and it was pretty empty.  Since they had a special for two four-course meals for $60, we decided to go for it.  I think we both thought we were going to be overpaying.  For that we could select any entrée under $20, a salad, then our cheese and chocolate fondues.

We decided on citrus salad (no cheese for me, cheese for Carol); Gruyère/onion cheese fondue; steak for Carol and chicken for me; and then dark chocolate fondue.  Truthfully, it wasn’t cheap, but it was such a good time.  The salad was very refreshing.  The cheese fondue was gooey and yummy (I found it a bit too onion-y, which is odd because I LOVE onions).  It actually was fun to enjoy finishing my chicken on the hot rock.  Plus the zucchini wasn’t awful!  Finally, the dark chocolate fondue had me wanting to lick the pot.

Dinner took us about an hour and a half.  The whole time we got to enjoy each other, hang out, interact with the staff, and truly savor the meal.  I really thought it was not going to be worth it, but it really was.  When we finally left, we knew we’d had a great meal, but weren’t overstuffed.

Perhaps this will become our tradition — a long fondue meal and time to just hang out.

Is there ever going to be a better birthday gift than time with a friend?

Leave a Reply

