My Little Carnivore

Sometimes parents will discuss nature versus nurture.  Such as, is a child “that way” because he’s allowed to be or because it’s part and parcel with his personality.  Generally, I think it’s a bit of both.  Except…

My son eats cheeseburgers.  Not only eats them, RELISHES them.  He likes them big, greasy, cheesy and, swear-to-grass true-life-story, with mayonnaise.  Save for the cheese and bread part, you couldn’t pay me to eat one.

I can tell you the last two hamburgers I had.  First, I was 8.  I had just bit into the freshest, crunchiest, and loveliest hamburger of my life.  I had to see what I’d done differently to make such a tasty burger.  Well, I’d left off the burger.  Sometime after that (when I was between 14 and 16), I pretty much stopped eating mammals altogether.  Sure, I still have ham and sausage on occassion, but I don’t ever cook it or really buy it.

In order to make sure I really didn’t like hamburgers, I tried again (at a restaurant no less) when I was 21.  Yep, don’t like it.  Got sick (probably because I wasn’t used to it, not for any other reason) and never tried again.  So you can imagine my surprise when Keb started waxing poetic about it.  You’d think someone gave him crack or marijuana.  Seriously!  I was all like, “Where did you get a cheeseburger?  Who gave it to you?” Which, if you think about it, is just bat-shit crazy.

Yet, there he is my little guy who wants nothing more than to spend evenings at McDonald’s, In-and-Out Burger, or Five Guys (I think Five Guys wins).  He likes his burgers big (LOTS OF MEAT), greasy, juicy, with mayo, and cheesy.  No veggies, though.  Don’t want to ruin it.  Right now the only thing that would make his heart sing more is to hit up Zombie Burger in Des Moines for a Better Off Ched.  I think that’s the burger sandwiched between two grilled cheese sandwiches.

Since I have NEVER once made a hamburger in my adult life, nor do I purchase it, nor did I buy it at McDonald’s (I thought he was hooked on nuggets), I have no idea where this came from.  I can tell you my family loves meat (and hunting) so in this case, I’m going to have to go with nature.

 

Leave a Reply

