Turning 45

I’m one of those freaks who absolutely loves her birthday.  In fact, I want it to be a holiday (February 24th, call your senators and representatives). I’ll tell anyone my age, even though I’m well past the age when people thought I looked younger than I was.  Now I look middle-aged (or worse).  I love it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to have the skin I had in my 20s.  I need to lose a good 50-60 pounds.  My hair isn’t as good as it used to be. Plus I can feel my brain slowing a bit, late to capture words and thoughts.  Yet, here I am.

I’m not normally one for big celebrations, but this year I want a little more than normal.  I think I want a sock monkey or animal for every year I’ve been alive (OK, by the time I’m 50.  I only have 5 right now so 40 is a lot to get at once).  I want one gorgeously beautiful, well-crafted double wedding ring quilt.  I want 45 birthday cards that come in the mail, with stamps, signatures, and sincere wishes.  I want a wonderful birthday cake from Everything Bundt Cakes that I can share with my family and friends. I want a year’s worth of orchids.  I want to spend the day with my friends, hanging out and enjoying each other.  I want to spend the night with my husband and son, enjoying our small, imperfect family.  I want Thai and fondue.  I want all the laser treatments it takes to get the skin of a 35-year-old.

LOL.  I want too much.  🙂  Then again, even if I got none of it, it would still be a great day.

After all it’s not every day you turn 45.

Leave a Reply

