Naked models offer a body image reality check

Naked models offer a body image reality check.

This is what I referred to yesterday, when I pointed out that American women are heavier now than in the 1960s which would definitely account for WHY models are so much “thinner” than the general population.

But then the had to include clothing size.  Are you f*cking kidding me here?  PUH-LEEZE!  Honey, the measurements for most clothing has changed as well over the past 40-50 years.  A size 12 in 1960 *IS* a size 6 or 8 in today’s sizing.  Don’t believe me, grab a pattern.  Last I checked (mid ’90s), I could wear a 16 in clothes, but would need to buy a 22 pattern to fit my rump.

Look, I’m not saying that we shouldn’t look at our standards of beauty and see if we’re expecting too much, being too narrow, or heaven forbid, making average or thin women feel they aren’t tiny enough, but let’s not fake that we as a society hasn’t grown larger over this time.

That’s just foolishness.

Leave a Reply

