On Children

fun

I'm not a warm, cuddly person. In fact, when the little kids from school come up and hug me, I tend to question their judgement. It's like they don't know evil when it's right next to them. That, by the way, is a joke.

Because I'm not all warm, happy, sunshine and smiles, people tend to think that I don't like children. However, I do. I like kids a lot. I find them interesting, smart, savvy, insightful, joyful, and compelling. I'm not crazy about babies, but once a kid is 9 months and doing things, I'm terribly interested in them.

I like to be silly. I enjoy playing. I love reading aloud in different voices, making literature come alive. People don't readily get that because the other side of me is hyper-structured, demanding, and blunt. People think because I expect more from kids that I don't like them.

What's interesting is that the people who don't like kids are the ones who deal with kids who are rude, self-centered, obnoxious, and uncaring. Because I want everyone to know the gift of children, I feel it's my job to train them to have both aspects — whimsy and structure. You can, you know. Look at an Alexander Calder sculpture and tell me you can't.

If you want to have fun in life, spend some time with a kid. You won't regret it.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

