WWTK — Working Hard for the Money

This week Queso want’s to know all about your job history. Here are the Questions!

1. What is the worst job you have ever had?

I’ve had so many and for many different reasons!  Most of the time changes in where I was living saved me from the fact that I just didn’t seem to have what it took to quit and find something else.  Of course then I didn’t realize that my inertia was caused by the fact that I didn’t really know *what* I wanted to do.

So I don’t know?  Worst pay? Retail without a doubt.
Worst hours?  Baking and getting up at 3 in the morning.
Most toxic environment?  WHEDA and Farm Bureau; although when pressed, everyone would deny it.
Worst boss?  (cue raucous laughter)  Honey!  That’s generally what makes a bad job.

In short, I don’t really know.

2. Have you ever been fired?

Yes.  It was when I first started teaching, and I had a knock-down drag-out with a principal and his minion vice-principal.  It was over the game “Smear the Queer” (basically sadistic dodge ball).  My sharply worded email resulted in his telling me I wasn’t welcome at his school.  Well that and my refusal to “unsend” it.  Therefore, I had to find another teaching position.  I got lucky.  Now when that happens, the district won’t rehire a probationary teacher.  They’re serious.  They can fire you for ANYTHING the first two years or so (until you’re permanent) of your teaching experience.  DO NOT point out that they can be sued for sexual harassment and that the PE department should not be allowing state-sponsored sadism.  After all, if you played it when you were a child, it’s no big deal, right?  We never played that so I don’t know.  I just know that even if kids used to eat lead paint chips, I wouldn’t let them do it now.  Geez-Louise!

3. What would your dream job be?

I really like teaching (but hate the other political BS that comes with it). I don’t know.  I’d love to design and help run my own school.  I’d love to find a way to fully fund education in a way that allows students to learn, grow, but also love being there.  However, I like to bake and talk.  On some level I’d love to bake everyday or to be David Letterman. Sigh.  I think I’m already where I’m meant to be.

4. What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

Everything!  I went through stages where I wanted to be a nurse, a sheep farmer (for the wool), a writer, a music journalist, a librarian, a radio DJ, a talk show host, and a comedian.  I’m still not sure what I want to be when I grow up, and I’m coming on 50 faster than I knew was possible.

5. How old were you when you got your first job?

I had done the normal shoveling sidewalks, mowing lawns and babysitting starting when I was 11 or so.  In high school, I got $20 a week from my mom for lunches, transportation, and allowance for keeping the dishes washed, the laundry (ONLY the whites, towels, and jeans — nothing “good”) done, and cleaning the house.  I got my first tax reportable job at 16.  I didn’t even want it.  I went with Cassie ’cause she was applying at the Iowa State Fair for a job.  As I recall, she didn’t get one because she was only 15 (soon to turn 16), but I got one working ice cream for 10 days.  As it was, she went on to work at a grocery store, and I worked at the public library starting at 17.  All things considered, Cassie got the better deal ’cause she could earn more money.  However, I only worked 3 days a week and absolutely LOVED that schedule.

In short: government jobs don’t pay SQUAT (true-life story, I was making $3.34 for the city of Des Moines when the minimum wage was $3.35.  I don’t know how or why they got away with it.), but you will never be asked to work Friday or Saturday night or any part of Sunday EVER!  In short, poor pay, decent hours.

Leave a Reply

