Stolen –We Want To Know

It’s been a while since I’ve written.  I’m rusty and need help.  Therefore, I’m stealing inspiration and idea from Jolene right, left and center.  She references someone else, but I’m too lazy to bother with that. 🙂

{1} Do you have any musical talents?
{2} What role, if any, does music play in your life?
{3} What is your all time favorite song?
{4} Do you sing in the shower?
{5} Has a song ever made you cry?

First, no.  I have no musical talents whatsoever.  Allow me to date myself.  There is a moment in the “Everybody Hurts” video by REM where the kid in the backseat is thinking, “Stop singing. Stop singing.”  I suspect that’s what everyone in my life is thinking.  I sing in the car, in the house, and at Jazzercise.  I have no idea what I sound like, but I’m pretty sure it’s thin, high-pitched, and not lovely.  Thankfully Jerome won’t allow us to be mean to each other because many songs are “sing-a-longs”. 🙂  Since NO ONE has ever once complimented me, I take that to mean I can’t sing as well as I can’t play any instrument or read music.

As for the second, I think like many people music connects most with you when you’re young and you don’t realize your experiences are the same as everyone else’s.  Again, dating myself, when we were young we would make the “mix tape” to express our feelings.  Sure, sometimes you were just sharing good music, but most of the time it was done to convey something deeper that you couldn’t say, but wanted to imply.  I confess, I miss mix tapes a lot.  As I’ve grown older, though, I’m less sentimental about music.  Very little connects with the “my days all resemble each other in a tangle of normal.” Do I miss the drama of my youth?  Not at all.  Do I still love music? Of course.  However, it doesn’t necessarily speak to me in the same way as it once did.  That said, as a family we listen to music much more often than I think other people do.  We will actually turn off the TV and turn on the CD player.  We are music listeners.

In terms of favorite song, I have many.  I think I even posted about which song goes to which person.  I love The Talking Heads “Naive Melody” and think of Taed when I hear it.  He has a face with a view, and I don’t know if I found you or you found me.  I just know that I’m home with him, and this songs conveys it all.  Plus, I will love him ’til my heart stops. (Yes, I’m crying).  For Keb, though, it’s U2’s “Beautiful Day”. I think it’s a reminder of no matter what the day is like, it’s a beautiful one.  We are blessed to be here.  I think of it because Keb’s birth had every possibility of going wrong.  Yet he’s here with us.  No matter what happened that day, it was a beautiful one.  Take your blessings where you can find them, I think.  For myself, there are a couple.  The first is REM’s “Near Wild Heaven.”  I had a relationship go wrong, was boomeranging back and forth, and couldn’t make the right choice.  For some reason this particular song kept me from going off the rails.  I don’t know why.  Finally, The Indigo Girls “Hammer and a Nail” to remind me to GET OFF MY ASS AND DO SOMETHING.  “Gotta tend the earth if you wanna rose.”  Seriously, you want something? Work for it.  I don’t always follow the (wise) words, but they are embedded in my brain.

I do sing in the shower, if music is playing.  I sing a lot.  I actually connected with “Ally McBeal” when a song would pop into her head to connect to a situation.  I tend to sing Pete Townshend’s “A Little Is Enough”.  I think it’s to remind me that even if I’m loved a little, it’s enough.  Lord knows I ain’t easy to love.  I will, however, sing passionately. Honey, I am livin’ that heartbreak. 🙂

Many songs, at the right time, will make me cry.  After my nephew, TJ, died Pink’s “Who Knew” would send me into tears.  It was the lyric, “If someone said three years from now/you’d be long gone/I’d stand up and punched them out”. I just couldn’t believe he was really gone.  It hurt.  It was surprising.  It was painful to remember.  At one time, when I was grieving the death of God within my own soul, “Dear God” by XTC would make me cry.  It took a long time for me to actually come to terms with my belief.  I kept expecting it to change.  I’d look for God everywhere, to no avail.  The anger at God was very real within me, as it appears to be in Andy Partridge.  I guess I had always hoped…

On any given day, of course, many of these answers would change.  Music is just one of the most important art forms we have.  It conveys emotion, thought, rebellion, love, anger, and so much more.  It keeps me exercising, and fills the room when I’m working.  It’s like air, for your soul.

 

Leave a Reply

