Holiday Confessions

I’ve noted before that my life-long friend and buddy, Jolene (http://richjmylife.blogspot.com), does a Friday Confessional most weeks.  Half the time I barely know the date, let alone the day.  However, this format will serve me well, so it’s late.

I CONFESS

With the three of us, there is no such thing as a Thanksgiving feast.  I’ve never once made a turkey with all the trimmings.  There’s a huge part of me that would like to; however, I know it won’t be valued.  Therefore, it falls under the “why bother” heading of life.  I personally LOVE Thanksgiving.  It would be my favorite holiday.  I like turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, and pie.  Oh, I love pie.

Instead, we saw a movie (“Hugo”); I made macaroni and cheese that was deemed too rich; and I bought a roasted Chicken from the store.  I did try to have a dutch apple pie, but it wasn’t cooked and went into the garbage.  So much for Thanksgiving.

I CONFESS

We’re pretty much the same at Christmas.  There are only three of us. Keb is at the point where he only plays Yu-Gi-Oh cards so shopping for him is limited to one type of store.  They don’t really have Black Friday sales at card/game shops.  Sure stuff was on sale, but there’s no deep, deep get there at 4 am discount stuff.  I should also mention that Taed is not the easiest person to shop for.  All the stuff they show for me in advertisements DO NOT interest him AT ALL.  Sigh.  Basically Black Friday is for women and children only (unless you need more electronics. We don’t).

I CONFESS

I have no one to make Christmas treats for either.  I love to bake and to make candies.  However, neither Taed nor Keb likes them or eats them.  When I make them for people, I’m somewhat treated like I’m quaint.  I think people throw away my confections, so I rarely make them.  Yet, I love the whole idea of holiday baking.  I don’t just love the idea of it, I love holiday baking.  There is nothing I want more than to hole up in my kitchen with ingredients and bake or create all day long.  I just don’t have an audience.  Yes, you should pity me.

I CONFESS

This is all weird given that I am not a believer.  Yet, I love shiny and sparkly things.  I love to wrap presents.  I adore putting up lights, going out to see them, decorating the Christmas tree, and having dessert parties.  For me it’s never been about the birth of Christ, it’s always been about making people happy and pampering them.  I truly want to indulge people for a month, take them to see beautiful objects, and enjoy the time together.  I’m blessed, and I want to share my blessings with others.

I CONFESS

For all my want, I wouldn’t trade my little family who aren’t into this for anything.  If it’s truly about the people, then I guess I’m pretty damned lucky that I don’t have to do anything to win the love of my boys.

I CONFESS

I am blessed beyond belief.

Leave a Reply

