Paper or Digital?

I'm not a Luddite, I just play one.

Writing in Cursive

One of the quickest ways to announce both your gender and your age is to hand-write almost anything. Yet, I have extreme envy when I witness beautiful cursive. I want that handwriting, the one that says my face and body may never have been lovely, but my written words are.

As a child, I practiced my cursive almost obsessively. It bugs me to this day that I can't make a lower case cursive b. In not being able to, I created my own style — a mixture of cursive and print, that's uniquely my own.

I admit to enjoying the process of putting pen to paper. I love stationary stores, drooling over paper and pens. Alas, while I buy them, I do not use them as I did before email. I was a huge letter writer in the late 80s and early 90s. Now, even my Christmas letter is "typed".

For notes, however, I still write in cursive. The idea that I would go through the process of calling up a program, to write something short, and then print it out to hand someone seems unnecessarily cumbersome. The right tool for the right circumstances. The same is true of grocery lists — the are handwritten.

However, as much as I love the process of writing, I admit that the computer holds most of my writing attention. Which is, if you think about it, quite sad. In "real life" we each have our own "font." In the digital world, we are all Times New Roman or Helvetica, or if we're playful, Comic Sans.

It's almost sad how uniform we're all becoming.

Powered by Plinky

One thought on “Paper or Digital?

  1. Morocco says:

    So what do you think of schools (at least in Indiana) not teaching cursive anymore? Is it a sign of the times?

Leave a Reply

