The Toy I HAD TO HAVE & What I Learned from Having It

I hated this thing, despite all my begging.

IMG_2620.JPG

I don't believe, in the 70s, there was the one MUST-HAVE toy phenomenon that came later. I do recall the Cabbage Patch Doll craze of the early 80s, as well as the Furby thing in the 90s. However, the 70s were weird, especially if you weren't old enough to have any cultural background to make sense of it (or enough sense to pay attention to what was going on).

I do remember, though, begging my parents for the doll du jour, so to speak. As I recall, these were not cheap dolls — probably $20-30 a piece. I had the doll that crawled and Baby Alive. Now I didn't want these for me. I wanted them for the currency they would give me with the other girls at school. It was social currency I was begging for. Thing is, the girls would come and play with the dolls — but not me. If I took the dolls over to their houses, they would play with the dolls, but we wouldn't play together.

I didn't know it at the time, but I learned the most valuable lesson. Having the right "toys" only gets you the toy. You will still be excluded from the group because, let's be honest, they don't like you for whatever reason they don't like you. This was valuable when I was a teenager in the 80s and dressing a certain way was REALLY important. I think the only thing I begged for (and got) was Lee Jeans and cool purple boots.

I may have doubted it at the time, but there can be no greater proof that your parents love you than their spending money they probably don't have, on a toy you don't really want (My mom had to have known. I NEVER played with dolls. Stuffed animals, yes. Dolls. No.), to buy you entry in with a crowd who won't have you.

🙂 All this from a toy.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

