It’s My Name

*I* get to tell you how to pronounce it. (History: my husband created our last name by blending our “maiden” names together.  My last name was Wynn; his was Nelson.  Together we are Wynnell.  We made it up, we get to tell you how to say it. It just works that way.)

It’s WIN-NELL  not WHY-NELL.  It’s a freaking medial “y” which means it’s acting as a vowel (you know, A-E-I-O-U-sometimes Y — not Ebn Ozn, Cassie).  So that sometimes Y thing means it’s acting as a short i sound (rather than long e such as at the end of party).  That, my friends, is part of what makes it win.  The other part is that it is a CLOSED syllable, not an open one. Being between two consonants makes it say the short version of its name (which in this case is an I).

Please, please, please do me the favor of pronouncing my name correctly.  It’s Suzanne WIN-NELL.  Of course it would have been tons easier had the spelling been Winn, rather than Wynn, or even Wynne, but what are you going to do? Just say it correctly, please?

3 thoughts on “It’s My Name

  1. Jolene says:

    Never a problem saying your new last name…my problem is your new first name. Love the idea that you and your ol’ Mr. Nelson came up with the new name for your life. Love IT!!! It is so you!!!

  2. Morocco says:

    Neat name story! Hmmm, I never would have tthought to pronounce it “Why” nell.

  3. suzanne winnell says:

    As a fellow Suzanne Winnell, I have to totally agree with you. The name is WIN-NELL!!!
    Not WIN-NALL, which is what many people like to say. That would be WINALL or WINLE, or WINNLE or WINEL. It’s WIN-NELL, as in WINNELL. By the way, I didn’t make up my name. I was born with it.

Leave a Reply

