The Mean Part of Me

The mean part of me
is happy your best days are over
that your high school dream ended
that your petty manipulations
have gotten you
no
where

The mean part of me
is thrilled to witness
the fading
of your legendary
beauty
which you were so proud of
revealing
the ugly parts of your soul
the bully
you pretended not to be

The mean part of me
is ecstatic to see you stuck
loveless and miserable
in a job, in a city, in a life,
in a marriage, in a divorce,
of your own making
because you are a
a good person
who doesn’t do
“those” things

The mean part of me
feels glee, witnessing
the spreading of your
butt and thighs
watching your waist
disappear
knowing your clothing
choices are limited
after showing
off jeans
i could never
wear
hurting the younger
me
to the core

The mean part of me
wants to
punish you
for not cherishing me
as your friend
pitting me against
more worthy
girls
whose bodies
matched yours
using me only when you
were sad or
lonely

The mean part of me
feels justified at your
aches, pains, and suffering
your pills
your limitations
your loss
of
life

However, the part of me
that isn’t mean
wouldn’t wish
your life
on my worst
enemy

 

3 thoughts on “The Mean Part of Me

  1. Jolene says:

    Very well written. I enjoyed it very much and the mean part of me relates so much to what you wrote about a few people I know or knew as well. I love your writings.

    • Suzanne says:

      Thank you. I actually wrote it while watching “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” (I think that’s the one). Then I thought about an ex of mine. I married those ideas into my poem; although, it sounds like it’s to my high school best friend. It’s the anti-love poem!

  2. connetta says:

    this reminds me of my husband of 33 years and me. Only i’m the nice one..this is well said. loved it.

Leave a Reply

