5 Things I'm Looking Forward to This Week

There's a lot to be thankful for the week of Thanksgiving.

My Mom’s Arrival
Mom is coming out to spend Thanksgiving with us. Sure it will be as unorthodox as we are, but it will be ours.

Early Days
We’ll be out “early” on Tuesday and Wednesday. Sometimes those days are the longest, but I still look forward to them regardless.

LIGHTS
I’m not Christian, so I don’t celebrate Christmas as an extension of my beliefs. However, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE decorating for Christmas. Putting lights up, decorating the tree, and wrapping gifts in beautiful paper makes me happy.

Baking
Since my mom will be out, I suspect we’ll spend some time in the kitchen baking. For sure we’ll do sugar cookies and decorate them. This is, to a large part, because I don’t know HOW to bake sugar cookies that aren’t hard as bricks. Keb will be in hog heaven –both decorating and eating.

I suspect we’ll also knock out some candy or other traditional goodies, perhaps even make cinnamon rolls. YUM-O!

Crap TV & Shopping
There is absolutely nothing like a holiday weekend to sit around watching crap TV (Bravo here I come!) and going shopping. Sure, I don’t need anything, but that won’t stop me. Actually, it’s the holiday season SO the Estee Lauder make-up gift with perfume purchase (What does Tiphany wear from there again?) is a must-have. Plus a trip to Sephora. Mommy =food=shopping=love!

BONUS! Laundry
OK, I don’t know this for a fact, BUT my mom tends to get up pretty early. She’s not one to sit around and our newspaper doesn’t really compel her so… I reckon she’ll finish any laundry that’s just sitting around in the kitchen. Even if she doesn’t, the fantasy of it makes me smile.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “5 Things I'm Looking Forward to This Week

  1. Morocco says:

    What’s on the menu?

    • Suzanne says:

      I’m planing on cashew brittle, fudge, shortbread, cinnamon rolls (just for us), pecan sandies, maybe toffee, and something with peanut butter chips. I’d love to do ginger cookies since that’s not something I normally do. Maybe peanut butter with peanut butter chip cookies. I’d love to make divinity, but it’s picky. Last time I tried my mixed seized. I was pretty damned convinced I’d ruined it. The timing is REALLY hard. Aside from that, maybe some Chex mix and caramel corn. I just LOVE to bake.

Leave a Reply

