Red Velvet Cake

I’m just pointing out that I really, really, really don’t understand the point of red velvet cake.  People get absolute HARD-ONS about it.  There is waxing poetic, moaning and groaning, and pining for it.  Weird, from my perspective.  Why?  Because I really hate the taste of food coloring.  Not just a little, a lot.  Red food coloring has this flavor that is… let’s just say wrong.

I’d be more understanding if the cake itself tasted amazing.  However, in my mind, it doesn’t.  Full disclosure does demand that I admit that I consider cake to merely be a frosting delivery system.  In my mind this further emphasizes the lack of interesting flavor because the cake fails to convert someone who is already reluctant.  I’m not standing there having the food orgasm everyone else is.  Then again, I never did jump on the garlic mashed potatoes band-wagon either.

Look, we’re talking about a kinda chocolate, kinda vanilla, kinda buttermilk (if you’re lucky) confection with cream cheese frosting.  I say skip the food Pied Piper and start demanding really luscious pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting.  You’ll look at a “real” food in a new way and never regret dumping the food coloring.

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake

  1. Jolene says:

    Oh my goodness!!! I thought that I was the only person who felt that way about Red Velvet Cake. I just find the taste unsatisfying and couldn’t figure out why so many people think it is the greatest, that and Champagne Cake.

    • Suzanne says:

      I totally agree about Champagne Cake too! UGH! However, it’s not in all the magazines and on food sites (although your writing it will probably mark a resurgence! Just you wait!). Thank you for being my buddy in distaste. LOL.

Leave a Reply

