Blame Dr. Suess

Wherein Suzanne seriously considers Deism because she’s read and thought about Horton Hears a Who one too many times

Definition as stolen by Wikipedia: Deism (pronounced /ˈdiːɪzəm/, us dict: dē′·ĭzm)[1][2] in the philosophy of religion is the standpoint that reason and observation of the natural world, without the need for either faith or organized religion, can determine that a supreme being created theuniverse. Further the term often implies that this supreme being does not intervene in human affairs or suspend the natural laws of the universe. Deists typically reject supernatural events such as prophecy and miracles, tending to assert that God (or “The Supreme Architect“) has a plan for the universe that is not to be altered by intervention in the affairs of human life. Most deists see holy books not as authoritative divine revelations but as human interpretations.

So What the Hell Does That Mean?

Good question.  It means that I’ve been contemplating both dust and intestinal bacteria (human flora) a lot lately.  So I consider, what if the microscopic colonies of human flora have some sort of consciousness?  Would we then, as the host organism, be considered their God?  Would our capriciousness with what we consume, how we cleanse, and our exposure to outside bacteria, yeasts, or other colonies of microscopic microorganisms be considered divine providence?  What if my gut flora finds Horton and asks for help?  What if a “person’s a person no matter how small” refers to this type of stuff?  Am I then a God — albeit an unknowing, uninvolved, and alternately benevolent and malevolent?

If this could be the case, then could I merely be a piece of micro flora in a larger system I can’t see, to a God who’s as equally ignorant to my needs as I am to the microscopic goo living on my body?  If the answer is yes, which is probably is, then I guess I have to be wiling to entertain that there is something bigger out there than me.  Something, somewhat in control, although most likely of itself and not me.

In that case, perhaps, just perhaps there is a God.

Now I just have to deal with the idea that if there’s one, there’s probably more than one.

Damned Dr. Suess.

Leave a Reply

