What Keeps Me Up at Night

It used to be so easy to sleep… I miss those days.

Sure, she can sleep anytime she wants!

Nothing much keeps me up; although my husband does like to try to start conversations when I turn out the light. I suspect he thinks this is “cute”. Instead, it messes with my sleeping pattern ’cause it re-engages my brain, which was so ready to just FALL ASLEEP in two seconds.

However, what WAKES me up is the cat. She has been howling in the middle of the night lately. It’s one of those, “I’m lost in the woods and lonely, please come find me howls.” It’s enough to make me wake up. Then she wants love. Sigh… Needless to say, at 40+, I don’t fall back asleep like I used to. OK, 40+ and over caffeinated.

I miss those days when I could sleep through any sort of natural disaster and fall asleep at the drop of a hat. This new biology, to put it prosaically, sucks.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

