The Funniest Thing I've Ever Heard a Child Say

The fun and games of teaching.

Dumb-Axe!

I talk too much, especially when I'm teaching. I suspect I'm the Rachel Ray of chatty-Cathiness without the benefit of a sunshiny personality.

One day, I was "reminding" the students that there is no honor in acting like one is stupid or even pretending to be dumb for the sake of preserving someone's ego or to appear more attractive. One of my ADHD students looked at me and said, "I don't ever "act" dumb." To which I responded, "It's good to know it's not an act." He then looked at me, thought a moment, and said, "Hey, that's mean." My response, "But it was funny, right?" Biggest smile you've ever seen, "Yeah. But it's still mean."

He wasn't the greatest student, and lord knows he had a hard row to hoe, but when his attitude was on, he was a pleasure to have in class.

Every kid has a silver lining.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

