Books I Read to My Students

Special books that continue to talk to me year after year. Better yet, they also talk to the students.

As a teacher, I have my favorite books that speak to me, and that I think will speak to the students. These are the books I read aloud to my students. Sometimes I worry that I am being too self-centered in selecting read-alouds based strictly on what I like. But then I realize that part of the process is modeling the LOVE of reading — the actual connecting between the reader and the story. In order to do that, I have to love the book. The other part is showing students that they can grow to love a book or a story with which they didn’t originally connect. Does this happen all the time? No. Even students come ready to slaughter the sacred cows set before them. However, they’re usually surprised at what they can be sucked into.

Books I Read Over and Over

  • Pictures of Hollis Woods
  • Ender’s Game
  • Out of the Dust
  • Sideways Stories from Wayside School
  • Number the Stars
  • A Long Way from Chicago
  • Because of Winn-Dixie
  • Esperanza Rising
  • Where the Red Fern Grows
  • The Circuit
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
  • Charlotte’s Web

Leave a Reply

