Tattoo Dream

Saturday night I had an incredibly weird dream.  What was most striking about it was that, while I was having it, all I could think about was how I was going to have to retract what I’d said about having no tattoos.

You see, in this dream my entire right shoulder and upper arm were consumed with a very elaborate tattoo.  In the dream I kept trying to find out what it was.  I would look in mirrors, bend and grab my arm turning it towards me, and generally stare at it all in some vain effort to find out WHAT I had tattooed onto my body.

Worse was when I discovered that what I was looking at was merely the OUTLINE of the planned tattoo.  No color or details were added to it.  This made it worse for me because, obviously, it meant both more money and time.  Add to it that I had no idea what it was supposed to be, I had no idea how to guide someone towards the completion of it.

Needless to say I was disturbed on two levels: 1) it went against what I had told other people about myself and 2) it was going to be a lot more work to finish what I obviously had started.

It’s a fairly interesting dream for the amateur psychologist in me.  On one hand it’s as if that tattoo is my own personal “Picture of Dorian Gray” only the tattoo is revealing what is usually hidden.  Sort of like it’s the indelible blue ink and the rest of the world has the glowing light stick revealing the secret, profane, and hidden.  On the other hand, perhaps the tattoo signifies upcoming projects.  In this case, perhaps I thought I knew what it entailed, but instead the project will be revealed as it is completed.  Perhaps I don’t know all the parts and I’m trying desperately to figure it out.  Perhaps even, it means nothing.

Still, a rather curious dream.

Leave a Reply

