Grudges

Today I was talking to a fellow teacher about adult interactions.  I happened to mention that, at some point during this year I really, really, really PISSED OFF a colleague.  Mind you, I knew it.  She made it abundantly clear, but I could also feel it along with reading her MANY signals.  She would walk out of rooms I walked into; she would not return cordial greetings; and when trapped in a room with me, she would not answer my questions or look at me.

For the most part, I didn’t try to impose myself on her.  I got that she wasn’t happy with the outcome of a situation in which I was part.  Mind you, I wasn’t the decision maker, I didn’t wrong her, and it wasn’t my boat to steer.  She was mad because I hadn’t sided with her.  What can I say? I’m a loose cannon. I don’t tow party line (make a deal with the devil and deal with it when you don’t get what you want.  Dolt!).

Now I could have gotten all uppity and equally angry with her.  I could have decided to play along and ignore her too (made her happy).  I could have also decided to make her life miserable by going out of my way to make sure she HAD to interact with me.  However, I’m not like that.  The respectful part of me was willing to give her time to lick her wounds.

The adult part of me though wondered then, and still does, who has the time or the bandwidth to hold and execute a grudge?  I don’t have the time, the energy, the bandwidth or the attention span it takes to hold a grudge.  That said, the next time you think you want to hold a grudge, grow up and grow a pair! This is just jackassbackwards ignorant.

Leave a Reply

