It’s Hard to Have High Standards…

…when you accept drivel.

When I got into teaching, fresh from working in the “tech” sector, I was stunned amazed astonished appalled at what teachers were accepting from students all in the name of technology.  I was at one conference where students had “built their own web sites”.  These sites were riddled with poor grammar, misspellings, and plagiarized pictures.  On top of that, the layout was poor and there was an overuse of font styles as well as any other web gimmick you could find.  The teachers were BEAMING.  I was dumbfounded.  Seriously?  I asked one.  She could not get why I wasn’t just thrilled at what the kids had produced.  At the very least, I was admonished, I should applaud the creativity that went into it.  I assume she meant the layout because so much of the content was cut and pasted from other sources.  There was little original work, and certainly nothing that smacked of innovation.  It was like a crappy science project, only web based.  Nice…

Yes, I am cynical, sarcastic and exacting.  You should want that in a teacher.

Flash forward 10 years.  I’m looking at a “state report” that was submitted.  First, it was on a demonstration board, so no report to speak of.  Second, everything on it was printed from a web site, cut out and posted on this board.  NOTHING, I do mean NOTHING was original.  Nothing was re-written.  I was, once again, dumbfounded.  The person showing it was going on about how it was an “excellent example” of a state report.  I didn’t even say anything.  This is a colleague.  If I’m negative or point it out, I’m even further ostracized.  So I shut up…

Too bad though.  Because we are discussing at length the idea of high expectations at my school.  Until we have them, we won’t get them.  And copying and pasting my friends IS NOT how you’re going to get them.  But I won’t say anything because, once again, I don’t want to have to be the bad guy.

One thought on “It’s Hard to Have High Standards…

  1. Cassie says:

    You need to write a book about this. Maybe use a pen name, but really you need to write this.

Leave a Reply

