Jenny Craig

For those who don’t know me, I’ve been overweight since 3rd grade.  There is a genesis (another story later) to this, but suffice to say, I went from 98 pounds in 3rd grade, to 133 in 5th, to 153 in 6th, to 187 in 8th, and 213 in 10th, and something akin to 230 in 11th or 12th.  Needless to say, I was a very loyal Lane Bryant customer.

I’ve been on about 3 serious diets in my life.  In grad school I was enrolled in some program whose name I can’t remember.  The food was crap as was the plan.  I lost 30 pounds in a short period of time, gained it back plus some, and decided that I could handle being fat.  Many life events occurred, and by the time I had lived in CA for a couple of years, I was pretty damned fat.  I don’t know how fat really.  Here’s how I know I was fatter than ever before.  I had borrowed my MIL’s Nordic Track at Thanksgiving.  By Christmas I knew I wanted one of my own.  When I bought a used Nordic Track, I put in my weight at 240.  I was guessing as we did not have a scale.  The following April when I decided that I really didn’t want to be fat anymore, I went to Weight Watchers.  Even though we could all tell that I had lost weight, I weighed in at 242.  Pretty damned big.

Eighty-five pounds lighter, I ushered in 30 at ~160, a weight I had no awareness of ever having been. I put it somewhere between 6th and 8th grade.  Probably a whisper of time, quickly erased by the effects and allure of Little Debbie.  Unfortunately, I had no idea how to keep weight off.  Within 2 years, I was up to 200.  Then came Keb.  I would love to blame weight on him, but I only kept 13 pounds postpartum.  I put on another 20+ pounds, leaving me north of 235 by the time of my 20th high school reunion.  Ouch.

So 5 years ago I joined Weight Watchers on-line.  I lost 75 pounds, which was great.  Then I started gaining… again.

At Thanskgiving my 75 pound loss had dwindled to 50 pounds.  I had no desire to meet 200+ pounds again.  I figured I would have to spend money on clothes or losing weight.  So I did something I’d never considered doing — I joined Jenny Craig.

Suffice to say, it’s not cheap.  However, I’ve already lost 12 pounds (it was 16 before I made cashew brittle and homemade lasagna for Christmas!).  While the cost is higher, I am learning about portion size, eating more often, and smart planning.  The food really is tasty (thank Goodness).  I’m hoping this time to actually make it to maintenance.   While weight isn’t the most important, I can say that I don’t want to buy larger sizes.

As much as I don’t love having to pay to lose weight, I do love that I feel that I can do this.  While I’ll never look like Valerie Bertinelli, I know that I don’t want to end up like Kirstie Alley.

Leave a Reply

