Stop Telling Me To Relax

As a rule, the way I am normally is as relaxed as it’s going to get.  I’m not, by nature, someone who can just sit at a bar listening to the local band playing and chill. In fact, that’s the recipe for sending me into some sort of weird hyperdrive.  The fact is, I find that BORING.  I don’t know the people so I’m not willing to dance.  I can’t hear (neither can anyone else) so you can’t talk.  What’s left is eating and drinking.  Yeah, I need more of that. UGH.

Since school has ended, I’ve been mulling things over in my mind and started (but not finished) my to-do list.  When I bring this up, people tell me to relax.  Just sit, do nothing.  I do — it’s called watching TV.  However, in the meantime, it’s good to ponder and work on HOW to help the students master what they need to know the following year.  It can’t hurt, and it might help.

I realize that people think they are being helpful, but I don’t sit well, and the advice doesn’t sit well with me.  It’s up there with pointing out that I’ve gained weight. Yes, I know, now leave me alone.  Let me have my little thoughts, mechanisms, and ponderings.  The fact that I don’t HAVE to be anywhere is what is relaxing to me.

Does that help?

3 thoughts on “Stop Telling Me To Relax

  1. Morocco says:

    I, too find it very hard not to do something!

  2. justaglimpse says:

    I haven’t done squat all summer (well not to my standards at least) and I feel like crap. I know I have my reasons, but still…

  3. Often those encouraging us to “relax” want us to slow down so they don’t feel bad about their lack of inertia. We all have our own speeds and needs. I told a friend to ask me how I’m feeling instead of telling me to relax. That way I could let her know I was feeling great and then she wouldn’t have to worry (or give advise).
    Enjoying your blog ~

Leave a Reply

