Things That Make You Go Hmmm…

I subscribe to an insane number of magazines.  They are somewhat categorized: family, fashion, fitness, food, current events, and some random miscellaneous. Along with the food magazines comes the trolling for food (is it any wonder that I’ve been overweight most of my life?  I mean, REALLY.) on the web, as well as the emails which also contribute to my obsession.

As such I get email updates from America’s Test Kitchen.  I like their magazines (Cook’s Illustrated and Cook’s Country).  I love their explanations.  It’s gone a long way in helping me analyze why a recipe may not have worked.  I love that they taste and equipment test.  Usually they have a rating system of recommended, recommended with reservations or not recommended.  Makes sense, right?

Well… They tested colanders.  Basically they all work (I know, you’re surprised!).  The models they posted are all recommended.  I guess that just goes to show that you can’t really screw up a colander.  Unless you’re really trying, that is.

Whew!  That’s a relief to me ’cause I was losing sleep over that one.

Leave a comment