YOW!

I’m incredibly forthright about how much the “multiples” through fertility drug cult bugs me.  In part because I see it as an extension of society’s sense of entitlement — not just to be a parent, but to receive “goodies” for having become a parent of multiples (like it never occurred to these people that you’d need money, time, and resources).  The other part being that these poor children and their families become “public” property.  I don’t agree with that at all.  Newborns don’t sign on to such things.  Children should not be the meal ticket and family breadwinner.

So it will come as a shock to know that I feel extreme sorrow and pity for the Jon (sp?) and Kate + 8 family.  I don’t agree with the steps it took to get them to this place, but I also don’t agree with the media record that will be left behind for their children (do you engage in the “archaeological dig” or do you ignore it?).   It’s not a crime to have marital issues.  It’s not a crime to dislike your wife/husband/significant other from time to time.  It’s not a crime to enjoy your work, want to get away from family pressures, or to go to a spa.  It’s not even a crime to have your children become the foundation for your family’s finances.

This has the look and smell of something horrific.  As hard as it is, maybe we should all just look away and let it play out.  The only sorrow, of course, is this.  There are 8 kids involved.

2 thoughts on “YOW!

  1. justaglimpse says:

    Did you read about Sarah Jessica’s surogate? She has been chased by papanazis, as her friends. They are chasing these fullterm prego women down. It’s disgusting.

    Unfortunately our society has a lot of ugly in it.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Yeah, I heard about that. It’s a little freaky. I know I’m partly to blame because I read stuff like Us, In Touch, Life and Style, etc. However, I generally skip those articles because I don’t care. Clothes and make-up, sure. Who’s dating whom? OK. Written word lasting more than a caption… Not so much (that’s why I subscribe to Time, Bitch, Good, etc.). Still, can’t be innocent since it makes it seem like that’s the reason WHY the magazine sold.

Leave a Reply

