The Road to Hell…

I thought I was on-track this week, but I wasn’t.  While I identified what’s eating me and what I’m eating to cause weight gain, the process wasn’t soon enough to catch an increase.  SIGH.

I’ve done this before, so I have reason to be concerned.  Twice in my life I’ve been in diets to lose weight.  This is the 3rd time, and it needs to be the charm.  There are many reasons I don’t want to gain weight back, the least of which is that I don’t want to buy bigger clothes — the vanity defense!  I also want to keep my blood pressure in check.  At my lowest, it was finally under 120/80, but not by much.

It’s annoying how complicated food can be for me.  Plus, it is a food thing.  I do exercise and enjoy it a lot.  I use it as my meditation time at home or for socialization when I’m at a class.  I actually think I over-rely on exercise.  Such as, if I do this then I can eat that.  I do it with food too.  If I eat a light breakfast and lunch, then I don’t have to plan for dinner.  Then I go hog wild because I’m not focused on doing what’s right for my body.

You’d think after almost 4 years on this journey, I’d have figured it out.  Then again, maybe it’s because I THOUGHT I figured it out (knew it all) that I stopped making progress and slid backwards.  There’s food for thought, huh?  Either way, if this is what I really want, then I need to dedicate myself to that path.  It’s pretty obvious that paying lip service to it isn’t working. LOL.

2 thoughts on “The Road to Hell…

  1. justaglimpse says:

    You can do this! I’m doing it to. Are you documenting your eating anywhere? Fitday? You are paying attention earlier.

    Don’t be too hard on yourself just make the changes that need to be made. (In my case it means get rid of all these processed snacks!)

  2. Suzanne says:

    Yes, I’m logging it on Weight Watchers. I WASN’T, which I think is part of the problem. ;D. I, too, need to get rid of processed foods. Like I said, I also need to stop OVERESTIMATING the impact exercise has. I found a couple other areas that I can improve as well.

    That said, I’m focusing on eating fruits and vegetables first. Adding protein at all meals, and eventually at snacks (if I really need them). Eventually, since snacking seems to be the issue, I want to eliminate this idea and just plan “mini-meals”. Semantics and all… 8)

Leave a Reply

