Back On Track

For the last year or so, I’ve been coasting on Weight Watchers.  Part of it was that I was pretty happy with where I had gotten.  Being big-fat (as the gas station dude, big-fat himself, described me) meant that I had COMPLETELY different ideas of what being “skinny” was all about.  When I would hear or read about women who were (insert extreme drama here) 160 pounds, I would want to beat them to death.  Worse, they would complain about being (GASP) a size 14!  Hell, from my perspective these were both along the lines of normal.  Heck, you can actually BUY a size 14 in the “regular” shops.  I would say to myself and whoever would listen, “I’d LOVE to be 160 and wear a size 12/14.”

So… when I hit 160 a year ago December, I decided to just be happy.  I wasn’t 235, 242, or even north of that (I don’t even KNOW how much I weighed when I went on WW the first time.  Seriously, I was using my MIL’s Nordic Track, then bought my own, and thought I was like 230.   I was 242 and it was OBVIOUS I’d lost weight!).  I figured this was do-able.  And it was, until I started to relax.  Since then, I’ve fluctuated around 5 pounds.  However, since having pneumonia and giving up Diet Coke, I’ve permanently gained (it seems) 5 pounds and fluctuated another 5 on top of that.  This means a gain of around 10-12 pounds at any one time.  That, for me, is a slippery slope.

While I was very relaxed last week and enjoyed MANY fattening desserts, I’m back to doing what I KNOW is right on WW.  I’ve been working on drinking more water.  I bought a lot of fruit and vegetables, which I’m eating FIRST (at least I’ve done good before bad) and I’m tracking BEFORE I eat.  This way, I can make changes should I be “close”.  While Saturday and Sunday found me eating over my 22 points, today I managed to stay at 23.  That’s good.  It means I should be on the right track to losing weight.

Now I need to really decide if 16o is the right place for me.  I admit, according to my BMI, I’m still overweight at 160.  However, from the waist up, I think I look good.  I have to decide if losing weight will make a difference in my hips, thighs, and butt.  I suspect that what I really need is a trainer –someone to get me off my Nordic Track and onto building muscle.  I think I need to seriously think about that.

In the meantime, it’s good to be on track and working in a way that’s positive to my health.  That said, next vacation, I’m still going to eat dessert. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Back On Track

  1. lifestartsnow says:

    you know, you try to take care of yourself and that is always the first step!

    maybe you can get a trainer to develop a specific workout for you and then the trainer checks on your progress every 2 weeks?
    would you feel comfortable working out in a gym?

    i once took a great weightlifting class with music and stuff (basically lifting with a choreography to a pumping beat). that was fun and worked magic but it’s not for everyone and maybe you’re not into gyms.

    keep up your positive spirit!
    franzi

  2. Suzanne says:

    Actually, I don’t like gyms. I could probably pull together some stuff from Self Magazine and my Jazzercise class to perk up the toning. I do have a Wii Fit, I just don’t use it like I thought I would. I think it nags me and is too slow. I hate that.

    That said, I could scrape together the funds to pay for Tracy (Jazzercise babe who is AMAZING LOOKING) or Larry (my buddy, Tracy’s trainer. Not the same as the other). Perhaps a once a week approach with my working on my own in the meantime would help.

    Thanks for your good words and encouragement. They mean a lot.

  3. justaglimpse says:

    I have a thought here, but would rather say it to you over the phone then on blogosphere….

  4. Suzanne says:

    I’ll call you later in the week. I can’t wait to hear what it is. Helping each other (plus you have Judy & ??) will definitely help.

Leave a Reply

