The Desert

I’ve been in the desert for almost 2 days now.  It’s interesting!  The first night I couldn’t really tell because we drove in with rain.  I could see the mountains, but not really the composition.  It wasn’t until Saturday morning that I got my first glimpse of them.  They are ROCK!  Seriously.  I don’t know why that surprised me or what I thought they’d be.  I’m thinking that I thought they would look like the Santa Cruz mountains — with plants, trees, and LIFE growing on them.  These, not so much.

Tracy and I have been discussing WHAT could people have been thinking when they first moved here.  Who would look at this landscape and decide to tame it?  While the urban areas are nice and clean, the unscaped places look dead and desolate.  It’s very weird.

Tracy and I went for a hike in the Santa Rosa and San Jacinto Mountains.  Due to three years of drought some of the native plants were dying.  Still there was life and movement.  The coolest thing, which I did not capture on camera due to being kind to nature, was a nest of desert wrens in a cactus.  They were all down and beaks.  I took pictures of the view and the desert plants, yet I don’t think that I captured what it’s like to be there.

Here are the pictures from the hike.

My buddy Tracy

My buddy Tracy

A view from the top of our hike.

A view from the top of our hike.

I had to.  It appeals to my inner 13-year old boy.

I had to. It appeals to my inner 13-year old boy.

Close-up of a pretty desert plant.

Close-up of a pretty desert plant.

Leave a Reply

