Not So Much

Taed, my lovely husband, bought me a graphic novel that he thought I’d like.  Given its title and topic, I thought I’d like it too.  It’s called The Big Skinny.  It even has a web site: http://www.thebigskinnybook.com/.  Unfortunately, that just wasn’t the case.  First, I wanted her to be really fat for this journey.  I admit it.  But she wasn’t.  Sure she had been over 200 pounds, but then she was on diet pills so she had maintained a 40 pound loss for some time (unless I read wrong because I was pushing forward to the good parts).

Essentially she was 160 and lost 30-40 pounds to be vigilent about everything that went into her mouth.  That’s where I started to feel preached to.  I’m sure it has everything to do with my own weight loss journey, but her whole concept of “fattitude” being that the person is careful about absolutely everything.  This is where our attitudes differ. I don’t want to eschew all processed food, soup, and anything that’s not “whole foods”.

Besides… When I started Weight Watchers this time, I really wanted to lose as much weight as I could eating as MUCH food possible.  I admit it, I need to SEE a lot of food.  Therefore, I eat things with a lot of bulk and fiber.  This allows me to eat more food for my points.  I’m sure the other reason is that I hear so many people say, “I got to 150-160 pounds, and I was just a fat pig. Oh my God, I was wearing a size 14!”

As someone well “north” of 200, I had always said I would be happy if I reached that weight.  I would be happy to wear a size 14 because at least that could be found in the “normal” departments when shopping.  I also wanted a weight that I could easily maintain.  So hearing someone say, yet again, that 160 was just too fat.  Well… that hits close to home.

Then there was the “whole foods” thing.  While I agree that food in it’s purest form is best, the hawking of Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s was too much.  Then again this is probably more me than the artist.  I admit to already being hammered by “good moms” about how they don’t work (actually they do; they just don’t see spending 3-5 hours every day at their child’s school as unpaid labor) about how they only feed their children from Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s.  I say this sincerely, it’s still processed food and junk food if it looks like Cheetos.

Finally, where was the drama?  This was just, “I decided not to be fat, changed my “fattitude”, measured everything in my mouth, wrote a diet book, and there you go.”  I wanted to see graphically that push you have when you actually bring the Girl Scout Cookies in the house and suddenly you’re Steven Adler with heroin!  That makes for good reading.  And what about when you’ve tossed all the yummy food because you’re not going to eat it, only to have a craving.  Then you find yourself making just WEIRD stuff (bread topped with fake butter and splenda/cinnamon anyone) to satisfy that sweet tooth.  Carol Lay says, “Eat 1/4 cup of ice cream.”  I say go get a McDonald’s cone!

SIGH.  So, you can see I wanted to like it.  I read the whole thing.  It has good diet advice.  However, as a memoir, it sucked.

Leave a Reply

