Lovely Birthday Gifts

If I haven’t mentioned this at least a million times, I love my birthday.  I love getting older.  I like the lines on my face.  I’m not crazy about the fact that I don’t have beautiful skin anymore, but hell age does that.  Suck it up!

Because I’m older, I put little stock into gifts.  If I get them, great.  If not, that’s OK too.  Even though I want it to be all about me, I know it’s not.  Age is good that way too.  However, I was lucky to be gifted with some wonderful presents.  First, my mom gave me a gorgeous red cashmere sweater at Christmas time for my birthday.  Then Taed and Keb got me the cupcakes from Sprinkles.  Sure, I need to stop eating so much sugar (since I’m putting on rather than taking off weight), but I loved that he made the special trip.  It’s not about the cupcake anymore.  It’s about how he worked to please me.

Carol came over on Tuesday to have dinner with us.  She brought me a Barnes and Noble card.  She knows me well enough to know that I like books.  She was funny because she said I was simulteneously easy and hard to shop for.  I can see that.  As if that weren’t enough, I had also received the most gorgeous tulips from Cassie.  I’m looking at them now. They could use a trim and a couple are starting to wilt, but most are still lovely and fragrant.  They remind me of spring and are happy.  I like happy.

And today… Today Lynette brought me a pinapple upside down cake.  There’s a story behind it.  Last year, for my birthday, she said she was going to make it.  When I conveyed this to another teacher, whose birthday is a few days after mine, she remarked that she can’t eat pineapple.  So I went to Prolific Oven and bought a cake.  Imagine my surprise when Lynette showed up with Texas Sheet Cake.  She was trying to surprise me by making a cake I usually made and with my recipe.  Needless to say, the disappointment showed.  No matter how much I apologized, she got that her surprise wasn’t a good one for me.  This isn’t to say the cake wasn’t good, but I wouldn’t have bought one if I had known.

Flash forward a year.  She brought me the cake she originally promised.  It’s so good.  How can it be bad?  It’s pineapple, brown sugar, butter and something holding it up.  By nature it’s wonderful.

After a week, I can honestly say I’ve had a great birthday.

One thought on “Lovely Birthday Gifts

  1. Morocco says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

