What do you say?

It’s been almost two years since my nephew “opted out” in order to “save” his family.  SIGH.  I guess I should be happy he can’t see what came of his sacrifice and choice.  Today his widow “opted out” of parenting.  Yes indeed.  She signed away her rights to their three children.  My mind is swimming with every nasty name I could call her.  Yet I know that doing so wouldn’t change a thing.  I’m just sad knowing that they are, for all intents and purposes, orphans.  Can you imagine what this looks like from a young mind’s perspective?  My dad left and so did my mom.  They both chose to leave me alone.

There might be a positive spin (she has been to rehab, prefers her boyfriend to her kids, never seemed to want to be a mom, etc.) on this, but it’s hard to find.  I work with kids, this stuff f*cks with them.  It really does.  It’s hard to admit that in teaching you know a little abuse is better than not being with the family.  Kids will accept almost anything with the hope their parents will see them and love them.

How incredibly heart-breaking for everyone.  I can only hope that this is truly for the best.

2 thoughts on “What do you say?

  1. Morocco says:

    This is sad and I’m so sorry the kids have to go through this! It makes me think of my stepsons…

  2. justaglimpse says:

    I’m so sorry. We knew this was going to happen, but it doesn’t make it easier.

Leave a Reply

