This Afternoon’s Agenda

Right now Keb and I are watching Ice Age (again, I know) while Taed has isolated himself in the computer room to either work or watch his own stuff.  The laundry is going, and we’ve had lunch.  The cat is pawing my arm to let me know she wants love and my lap, but not necessarily in that order.

That said, there are many things that I’d like to accomplish this weekend, given that last weekend (through Tuesday, I swear) I played. The first is getting my homework into my gradebook and 2 assignments graded.  One, however, is a writing assignment.  For those who’ve never graded writing using a rubric, it’s a good 2 minutes per piece.  Sometimes it’s more than that as you attempt to determine passing versus not passing and (if you chose) adding comments.

I need to start my sub plans for Tuesday when I’ll be out at a training which is mandatory.  What’s nice is that I’m giving a unit test that day.  What’s hard is that our students like to test subs in a not nice way.  I don’t want to threaten or bribe, but I may have to. 😦  Today I need to get the new seating chart made (I let the kids pick this time; some chose well.  Others, not so much.  It’s all about learning.).  I also need to write rules, procedures, and the lesson out.  I’ll write the agenda and materials on the board before I leave on Monday.

Then I’d like to get our backyard picked up.  We have fallen leaves and weeds to pull that should go into the yard trash container (yes, we’re lucky.  Sunnyvale picks up yard waste from its OWN container.).  Then the swim stuff either needs to be put into the garage or thrown away.  Finally, we may actually put our patio furniture away.

If I get all of that done, I’d like to wash the kitchen floor and clean the 3 bathrooms.  That may wait, though.  There’s a lot going on.  The water company is going to hate us!

Finally, I need eggs from the store and will have to decide dinner.  Thankfully it’s only 12:40 so I have a while before I have to come to that bridge.

So… how’s your weekend going?

6 thoughts on “This Afternoon’s Agenda

  1. Morocco says:

    Let’s see…I did laudry, finished contacting all the parents on my list, cleaned up, had dinner and went to the mall with a friend, read four books in the New Testament, wrote a few letters, blogged, read blogs, stared at a fat stack of papers that I MIGHT grade, and ran a few errands.

    Really, I need to get more organized and start following my to-do list. I’m in such a funk that my mind just flits everywhere except where it should be!

  2. Morocco says:

    Oh yeah, I ironed my son’s uniforms for the week!

  3. Suzanne says:

    WOW! Girl, you have accomplished a lot. I think it’s hard for us teachers to actually SIT down to do things. That means we have to focus when, really, we spend a lot of our time in class divided. When we get home, being up and around is “normal.”

    That said, you accomplished TONS. I’m envious. Plus I totally understand about papers you might grade. I hate grading. In fact, I think there has to be a better way to assess students that’s more “real”. But, that is another conversation for another day.

    Have a wonderful week. You’ve earned it.

  4. Suzanne says:

    The bedding is almost done, and the backyard is done. We worked together as a family to get it looking OK.

  5. Morocco says:

    I agree. So much of our “weekend” is spent doing things for school. A teacher’s job is never done.

    I am looking forward to spring (literally and metaphorically) so that I can do some much needed yard work!

  6. Taed says:

    Taed was watching _Cimarron_ (1960). Just so-so, but better than _Ice Age_.

Leave a Reply

