New Book

Like many, I have quite a few TBR next to my bed, on my desk, in piles around the house, etc.  Today I went to Borders because a student had gifted me with $20 and it was BURNING a HOLE in my pocket.  I first selected Francisco Jimenez’s latest book that complete The Circuit and Breaking Through.  Then I saw it.  It was purple, lucious, beautiful, snarky, and evil.  Yes, it was Jen Lancaster’s latest, Such a Pretty Fat or Why Pie is Not the Answer.

I like Jen Lancaster because she is a lot like me — strong, opinionated, snarky, and snotty.  That means I would HATE her in real life.  I’d talk bad behind her back and try to make her feel bad all while admiring her high self-esteem and small feet.  I know I should wait until Friday when I’m traveling to read this, but I can’t.  I don’t want to.  I can’t wait to devour her memoir about how her high self-esteem is bad for her health.

I fully recommend (as quick, but not at all serious reads) her other books: Bitter is the New Black and Bright Lights, Big Ass.  Not socially redeamable, but what’s life without some fluff?

Here’s her book trailer.  She is pretty.  I totally get why she felt OK being fat.  When you’re fat and pretty, really no big deal.  When you’re fat, not pretty, and considered meaner than a snake with issues, well, you gotta lose weight. 🙂

One thought on “New Book

  1. justaglimpse says:

    I’ve got to read her books. You are right. She is you. I’d love her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

