Pneumonia

It’s official; I am a knob.  Only through a series of unplanned, but ultimately good, steps was I diagnosed as having pneumonia.  First, the people at work were pressuring me due to my hot/cold thing.  I went last Friday and was told I had a fever.  Nothing had developed.  However, the nurse noticed that I was 6 months past my pap, so she insisted on scheduling me AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.  This meant the following Friday.

Most of this week, while feeling I SHOULD stay home (but truthfully not wanting to write lesson plans or worry about the students’ behavior) I went to work figuring it had turned into a cold. Yesterday, during my exam, the doctor said, “You feel hot to me.”  Then she asked me my temperature.  Truthfully it hadn’t been taken so she got a nurse, got her stethoscope and insisted on listening to my lungs.  While I got my pap (pretty painless and quick, really) she focused on my actual health.  She scheduled a chest x-ray and told me to go to the walk-in clinic when I was done because she needed it verified.  She was quite honest, she didn’t feel qualified to prescribe the antibiotic since it had been more than 5 years since she’d done general med.

So one chest x-ray, a wait, and an appointment later, I was diagnosed as having pneumonia.  The on-call doctor was very sweet calling me his hero for operating under such conditions.  He wanted me to take the next five days off work.  Guess what?  Already doing that!  Of course, I should have done this days ago.

Now here I sit coughing a lot.  My temperature is a nice balmy 101-102.  I can’t operate heavy machinery.  My job is to stay quiet and get better.  HA!  I’m going to try anyway.

2 thoughts on “Pneumonia

  1. justaglimpse says:

    I’m so sorry sweetie! 😦

  2. Suzanne says:

    Well the silver lining is that the doctor was accepting new patients so I asked if she would add me to her list. I was VERY impressed.

    She could have overlooked the symptoms or just sent me on. Instead she did the heavy work and then just sent me to a GP to make sure I got the right meds. I like a doctor with initiative.

    Plus, she was pushy in a good way. I need that.

Leave a Reply

