I Am Officially a Weenie

I shouldn’t admit this, but then I’ve never really been what you would call proud…  I went over to Lola’s today to check in.  Jerome had his annual birthday class so I figured I could win her over with cake.  Women over ninety and kids always fall for cake.  She was no exception.

While she scarfed it  — I’m serious, I don’t think she bothered to chew, she mentioned that something small and black had been on the floor.   She said it jumped when she tried to pick it up.  Sure, I wanted to cut and run, but that would be wrong.  So I told her I’d look for it.  LOOK FOR IT!  YUCK.  However, she’s 91, she hadn’t eaten, and old age is setting in.  It was the least I could do.

 Finally I found the little bastard bug (looked like a cockroach to me — I didn’t say anything because even the word has power), and told Lola I found it.  Yes kids… I stood back and made a woman of 91 kill it with a fly swatter.  She seemed willing, so who was I to stop her?  I did, however, redeem myself a bit by getting it into the garbage and taking the garbage out.  She wanted assurance that he wouldn’t crawl into her bed.  I just wanted to make sure he wasn’t a zombie cockroach who’d crawl out while I was there.  Come on!  She’s 91.  She’s lived a full life.

I know… I’m a weenie.

4 thoughts on “I Am Officially a Weenie

  1. justaglimpse says:

    You made her kill it???

  2. Suzanne says:

    OK, I didn’t MAKE her kill it. I just didn’t offer to step in and do it for her. I made no effort whatsoever to take that task on myself. It was all I could do to scrape it up with the flyswatter and put it in the garbage.

    So, no I didn’t make her. I just helped her find her flyswatter, moved all the stuff around the bug, held onto Geena, and then stood back and let her do her thing.

    Look, I SAID I was a weenie. Doesn’t that explain it all?

  3. justaglimpse says:

    But you…you’re not the weenie…I usually am. I’m so confused….

  4. Suzanne says:

    I’m not that brave with cockroaches anymore. For awhile with Cindy I would kill them at her dad’s apartment with no thought.

    Then when they swarmed the one house while she was away in IA City I developed a HUGE phobia. It was too much to bear seeing, let alone trying to deal with. I tried, but I actually felt ill.

    Now, I won’t step on them AT ALL. I actually avoid them on the street. I prefer rats, grasshoppers, pill bugs, spiders, snakes, and other other types of insect or rodent. Cockroaches I cannot do.

Leave a Reply

