Dia De Los Muertos

While I’m not into Halloween, I could get into DIa de los Muertos (Day of the Dead). I think maybe that’s one tradition we can steal from the Hispanic culture and fully integrate into our American culture. I think that there is something to be said for celebrating those who have passed on.

For many years, I never gave much thought to the idea of celebrating one’s relatives who have passed on.  However, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that, while they have passed on, many of our loved ones are here.  The spirit they leave is within us allows us to commune with them.  I think to those days when I’m missing Dad.  I have a country CD that I listen to that reminds me of the things he would listen to.  It helps me to remember, to celebrate, and indeed to pass onto Keb the person who was my father. I also remember what he was like as a person.  I generally miss him each election because we were a very political family.

I tell stories that I remember about my Grandma Conn and her cat, Tiger.  When I buy Kraft singles, I think of her.  When I think about telling Keb he shouldn’t have one more, I remember her talking with Mom.  Hell, when I see pretzels, I remember Taed’s Babcia.

I’m not generally a holiday person.  I hate most — they tend to be about food and decorating.  However, one that remembers our past and the people who have shaped us is a good one.  I think next year I will celebrate Day of the Dead in memorial of the people I have loved and lost.

Leave a Reply

